Accident Guide in the State of California

In 2009, 33,808 traffic-related fatalities were recorded in the United States out of 30,797 fatal crashes. Additionally, out of the total US fatalities recorded that year, the State of California topped all 50 states with 3,081 – ten times more than the State of Texas. The two states were followed by Florida, North Carolina and Georgia.
Road accidents remain a major problem among traffic authorities all over the US, especially in California. The fact that the state has many urban areas makes it an accident hotspot because of the high volume of traffic. But, despite this, traffic authorities are doing their best to maintain major thoroughfares and to remind motorists of possible mishaps. Also, the state government is finding ways on how to alleviate the incidences of traffic accidents even more through their traffic laws.
What You Need to Do
Since accidents are unavoidable, it is important for persons involved in the mishap to be ready and extend a hand in such instances. If a person driving in the State of California encounters or gets involved in a traffic accident, he or she must consider the following procedures:
• Halt and assess the situation
He or she must look for the extent of the damage inflicted during the mishap, as well as any signs of injury or death. In California, if a driver gets involved in an accident but doesn’t stop his or her own vehicle right at the scene, he or she can be cited for a serious criminal charge. This widely happens in hit-and-runs. The driver holds responsibility in reporting the accident to the police or to the California Highway Patrol (CHP).
• Provide Personal Injury Settlement Steps proof
Once the person finishes his or her assessment of the accident, he or she must provide proof of being a legitimate driver. He or she must show his or her driver’s license, car registration documents, evidence of financial responsibility, and current home address to other people involved in the accident and to the authorities present at the scene. If he or she cannot provide evidence of financial responsibility, he or she can be cited and charge a $250 fine.
On a Serious Note
A more serious accident wherein a driver or a passenger from the other vehicle sustains an injury or dies on the spot must be reported to the police or to the CHP within 24 hours. A serious Head On Collision accident must also be reported to the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) if someone is killed or seriously injured or that the extent of the damage to property exceeds $750.
When you report a serious accident to the DMV, you, your insurance provider, and/or your Los Angeles injury lawyer must fill out the “Report of Traffic Accident Occuring in California Form” (SR 1). You must also submit the accomplished form to the insurance companies, police, and other administrative agencies involved.

READ  Choosing the Right Day Care Facility